Community Arts

I would say that this course is really exciting. I’ve never had a course like this before since every other art courses are predictable and the same. When I was creating art in this class, it forced me to venture outside of my comfort zone and communicate with others. It is not my favourite because I have very different opinions than other individuals. But I try to make it work and finish it. Of course, this is quite essential at our school since bringing art into spaces can both make people feel comfortable and encourage them.

For example, take the project to rename the mascot because our current mascot has certain controversial aspects to it. Making it a more pleasant and unbiased mascot, as well as adding various religions or ethnicities without being prejudiced. It would be good to have connections. Finally, it would be incredibly wonderful if we really renamed the mascot so that we could leave our stamp on the school and be recognized as the people who created it.

And the library mural project caught my attention because, first and foremost, we would be able to incorporate paintings into a library that would be lasting. And people can see it when they look up, rather than it being hidden somewhere. It has an impact and may sometimes impact people’s life. However, working with those you are unfamiliar with or do not know well might be difficult since you may have quite different perspectives. Furthermore, some people may not always put out their best effort.

So this class is wonderful and I love it, but it has certain drawbacks that I hope can be solved. In the end, I believe this class is incredible and I learnt a lot from it, and I will take a lot of it with me.